Monday, August 10, 2015

Velocio-SRAM Women's Cyclling Team Calls It Quits

Team owner Kristy Scrymgeour has announced that the very successful Velocio-SRAM cycling team will cease to exist after Jan. 1, 2016. Sponsored through the years by HTC, Columbia, Specialized, Lululemon and other businesses, the squad has included some of the top riders in the women's peloton and achieved some impressive results, including world team time trial championships. Members have included some of the most familiar names in women's cycling, Lisa Brennauer, Carmen Small, Evelyn Stevens, Trixie Worrack, Karol-Ann Canuel, Chloe Hosking, Barbara Guarischi, Ina-Yoko Teutenberg, Judith Arndt, Emilia Fahlin, Ellen van Dijk and many others. Through the years Scrymgeour's platoon of high-powered cycling ladies has been perhaps the main competition for the dominant Netherlands-based Rabo-Liv team, headed by multiple world champion Marianne Vos. Inevitably, the Velocio-SRAM riders will be scattered among other teams and Rabo-Liv will be even more of a power in women's pro cycling.

It's another sad development for women's cycling, a sport struggling to find success in an environment of intense competition for sponsor dollars and spectator eyeballs.

 Kristy Scrymgeour from her HTC days

Team owner Kristy Scrymgeour

No comments: